2020 Celebration of Leadership Post-Event Highlights

October 15, 2020

Last week, hundreds of regional leaders came together for the 2020 Celebration of Leadership to honor our incomparable Leader of the Years, Artis G. Hampshire-Cowan ('89). Artis is the quintessential community advocate. 

Her work has made an indelible positive impression on our region through her exemplary career accomplishments and profound civic service. Artis is truly a leader of the years, and the Celebration of Leadership was the perfect opportunity to honor Artis for her ingenuity, commitment, and exceptional regional impact.

Participants shared their gratitude and admiration for Artis, networked in a variety of breakouts, and closed the evening with a high-energy dance party.

If you had to miss the big night, or want to experience some of the magic of the evening again, you can catch the excitement here: 

Recognition of Artis Hampshire-Cowan ('89), 2020 LGW Leader of the Years


Our Sponsors







Alvarez & Marsal
Anchor Construction
Bradley Community Fund
Valarie Clark ('17)
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Executive Leadership Council
G.S. Proctor & Associates
Greater Washington Community Foundation
Global Scholars Foundation
Robert McNamara ('15)
Perkins Eastman
Prince George's County Council
Revenue Authority of Prince George's County
Prince George's Public Schools
Stack Bleach Group Merrill Lynch
Volunteers of America
Washington Gas
Wells Fargo




Bernstein Management Corporation
Bright Beginnings
Capitol Bridge
Carol Thompson Cole ('88) and Michelle Gilliard ('14)
Chevy Chase Trust
HDR Architecture, Inc.
Diane & Victor Hoskins (‘16)
King Street Wireless
Rachel S. Kronowitz ('15)
Carl & Pinkie Mayfield (’01)
MCN Build
Alex Orfinger ('98) & Cal Bowie ('06)
Prince George's Community College Foundation
Prince George's County Executive Office
Diane Tipton ('98) & David Bradt ('93)
Turner Construction
The White Rose Foundation (The Links)
YMCA of Metropolitan Washington



Mary Abbajay ('06)
Emerald & Tolu Adeyemi
Rosie Allen-Herring ('02)
Ralph Bazilio ('07)
Barbara Davis Blum (Founder)
Kristina Bouweiri ('16)
Gwendolyn Boyd ('96)
Boyd Watterson Asset Management
Mary Brady ('09)
Joe Budzynski ('06)
Janine Burns ('89)
John T. Butler ('97)
Lyles Carr ('87)
Mark Chastang
Sheila M. Curry
Dr. Charlene M. Dukes ('13)
Chevy Chase Land Company
Barbara and Doug Duncan ('15)
Shirley Edwards ('98)
First Monday Friends
Myra Peabody Gossens ('87)
Kerry-Ann Hamilton ('15)
Steve Harlan (Founder)
Allan G. Herring ('12)
Leah Herring (YLGW '13)
Nala Rose Herring (YLGW '11)
IDI Group Companies
Janene D. Jackson ('10)
Debbi Jarvis ('09)
Karen S. Kalish ('90)
Jeff Keitelman ('91)
Derek Kindle
Barbara Krumsiek ('98)
Abel Lopez ('88)
Ian Mitchell (RL '18)
Chris Morrison ('19) & Michael Olding
RBC Wealth Management
Howard Ross (‘91) & Leslie Traub (’07)
Dr. Carolyn B. Rudd ('10)
Shipley & Horne, P.A.
Beverly Silverberg ('89)
Joseph Smith
Harry Staley ('89)
Dana Stebbins ('88)
Norma Jenkins Stewart (’03)
Howard Stone, Jr. ('96)
H. Patrick Swygert & Dr. Leslie Fenwick (’09)
Azadeh & Mahan Tavakoli ('98)
Gregory K. Wells (’98)
Frank Williams ('11)


Special Sponsorship


For questions or more information regarding sponsorships, please contact Dani Brockert, Member Services Manager at dbrockert@lgwdc.org or 202.465.3201.


2020 Celebration of Leadership Post-Event Highlights