One More Chance to Celebrate

October 27, 2023

"Folks are coming to let their hair down, to be themselves and celebrate an individual. I come to every one of these events because I always feel the person on stage has a lifetime of achievement and I’m always inspired hearing their story. Frankly I don’t know what the heck I’m going to say when I’m up there - I just hope that I live up to this amazing honor!"

And live up to it she did. Pinkie Mayfield ('01) has been fixture at the Celebration of Leadership for many years, a longtime friend of LGW and enthusiastic champion of our mission. Not just her history with us, but also her enthusastic support of education for women and girls, made her an easy choice the 2023 Leader of the Years. Frankly we're suprised it took this long, but better late than never!

Pinkie Mayfield ('01) delivers remarks as our 2023 Leader of the Years

Pinkie was the star of the show, of course, but the Celebration of Leadership is really about the collective might of our members and supporters. Once again we were fortunate to welcome over 700 regional changemakers to celebrate the extraordinary leadership all around our region. There were conversations, connections, and of course a little bit of fun!

Lidia Soto-Harmon ('07), Jacqui Watson ('07), Pinkie Mayfield ('01), and Lionel Neptune ('98)

Craig Strent ('09), Mahan Tavakoli ('98), Saurabh Kapoor ('17), and lisa wise ('20)

But for a few magical minutes it really was all about Pinkie. After viewing a video featuring her dearest friends and family, she accepted the honor and spoke of her faith, her convictions, and her commitment to community.

Pinkie Mayfield ('01)

Pinkie Mayfield ('01) with her husband, Carl, and two children

It was a night we'll never forget, and of course we can't go without thanking the amazing host committee - co-chaired by Terry Kenny and Teresa Payne-Nunn - for ensuring that it all came together!

Host Committee Co-Chairs Teresa Payne-Nunn ('14) and Terry Kenny ('16)

For more photos from the evening click here, and we can't wait to see you all at next year's Celebration of Leadership!

Pinkie w/ past Leader of the Years Honorees Alex Orfinger ('98), Rosie Allen-Herring ('02), Diane Tipton ('98), Artis Hampshire-Cowan ('89), and Lyles Carr ('87)

One More Chance to Celebrate