Meet Our 2023 YLGW Scholarship Recipients

August 1, 2023

The Youth Leadership Greater Washington (YLGW) program provides leadership training to youth leaders while raising their voices around critical issues in the region. Thanks to the generosity of corporate and individual sponsors, youth leaders participate in the program tuition-free.

Each program year, the LGW member-led Maxine R. Baker Scholarship Fund provides college scholarship support for two youth leaders who complete the program. We are proud to announce this year's outstanding scholarship recipients:

Dalayna is a junior at Langley High School in Fairfax County, Virginia. She has a strong interest in politics and government. During the 2022 Virginia legislative session, she served as a Virginia Senate Page in Richmond where she got a first-hand look at how the state government operates and participated in leadership and service programs. Dalayna plays field hockey, both high school varsity and on a competitive club team. During the COVID-19 pandemic, she served as Director of Recruitment and Campaigns for Teens United, a teen-run organization focused on empowering teens and aiding communities. As part of this, she coordinated contactless grocery deliveries for high-risk individuals and helped lead volunteers. In 2020, she co-founded Teens Connect Global, a platform to connect teens from around the world, share experiences, participate in meaningful discussions, and advocate for areas of common interest, through facilitated calls. Additionally, she is active in Girl Scouts and has earned the Silver and Bronze awards. Dalayna has a younger brother and two cats.

Benanti is 16 years old and is a rising junior at Connelly School for the Holy Child. She's an active tennis player both in school and out, and she also dances and runs the her school's debate club. She is the vice president of the Diversity Committee and enjoys working with the affinity groups to make sure everyone is represented and feels welcome at school.


Meet Our 2023 YLGW Scholarship Recipients